Oranges are Not the Only Fruit (1989)

Based on Oranges are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson

Three-part drama written by Jeanette Winterson, adapted from her autobiographical novel. The part of Jess's fanatical mother was taken by Geraldine McEwan in a towering performance that won her a Best Actress BAFTA. The programme also won the BAFTA for Best Drama and another for Film Sound. In 2010 it was named by the Guardian as the eighth best television drama series of all time.


Licence: ERA Licence required

  • Type: Adaptation
  • Channel: BBC Two
  • Duration: 54'15''
  • Broadcast date: 1989

UK only
Staff and students of licensed education establishments only
Cannot be adapted

  • BBC Logo
  • Literary Resource