Proclaiming Olives

Sonnet 107

A selection of poetry about peace introduced by Martin Booth. These include ‘After the war’ by Xin Yuan, ‘Sonnet 107’ by William Shakespeare, ‘As toilstone I wander'd Virginia's woods’ by Walt Whitman, ‘Spring offensive’ by Wilfred Owen, ‘Mersa’ by Keith Douglas, ‘Counting small-boned bodies’ by Robert Bly, ‘And the dead shall be raised’ by Galway Kinnell, ‘Naming of parts’ by Henry Reed, ‘Untitled (In the holocaust)’ by Hara Tamiki, ‘Deathfeast’ by Takis Sinopoulos and ‘Alchemist’ by Alan Sillitoe.


Licence: ERA Licence required

  • Type: Sonnets and Poems
  • Channel: BBC Radio 3
  • Duration: 17'56''
  • Broadcast date: 1984

UK only
Staff and students of licensed education establishments only
Cannot be adapted

  • BBC Logo
  • Shakespeare Archive Resource