Shakespeare Shorts | Sanity and Insanity – Playing Lady Macbeth


Each programme in this series takes scenes from Shakespeare's Macbeth. In this programme they are Act 5, Scenes 1, 3 and 5. The sleepwalking scene and Macbeth's lament on the death of his wife are compared with other versions of these scenes.


Licence: ERA Licence required

  • Type: Factual, Plays
  • Channel: BBC Two
  • Duration: 19'32''
  • Broadcast date: 1998

UK only
Staff and students of licensed education establishments only
Cannot be adapted

  • BBC Logo
  • Shakespeare Archive Resource