The Railway Children (1968)

Based on The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

When their father is taken away on Christmas Day by two gentlemen from the Foreign Office and fails to return in the next few weeks, his wife announces that she and the children - Roberta (Bobbie), Phyllis and Peter - will be moving to Oakworth Yorkshire ''to play at being poor for a while''. They move into a cottage called Three Chimneys.


Licence: ERA Licence required

  • Type: Adaptation
  • Channel: BBC One
  • Duration: 21'27''
  • Broadcast date: 1968

UK only
Staff and students of licensed education establishments only
Cannot be adapted

  • BBC Logo
  • Literary Resource